Texting Law Tougher For Teens

Listen to the Story

Under the new law, the first offense for Ohio adults will be a $150 fine. The second offense brings a $300 fine. But drivers will only receive warnings for the first six months.(Photo: Jason Weaver (Flickr))
Under the new law, the first offense for Ohio adults will be a $150 fine. The second offense brings a $300 fine. But drivers will only receive warnings for the first six months.(Photo: Jason Weaver (Flickr))

Ohio’s ban on texting-while-driving takes effect Friday. Yesterday we told you about the $150 fines that will come after a six-month education or “grace” period.

For the second part of his series, Statehouse correspondent Bill Cohen reports on how and why the law is so much tougher for Ohio minors. Click the play button above to hear his report.

Comments