Backers Say “Secondary” Designation Will Still Deter Texters

Listen to the Story

Under the new law, the first offense for Ohio adults will be a $150 fine. The second offense brings a $300 fine. But drivers will only receive warnings for the first six months.(Photo: Jason Weaver (Flickr))
Under the new law, the first offense for Ohio adults will be a $150 fine. The second offense brings a $300 fine. But drivers will only receive warnings for the first six months.(Photo: Jason Weaver (Flickr))

A new law takes effect on Friday, making Ohio the 39th state to outlaw texting while driving.

Legislators passed the measure in the spring, and it will impact adult and teen drivers differently. For the first part of a two-part series, Statehouse correspondent Bill Cohen looks at what the law will mean for adults. Click the play button above to hear his report.

Comments