Strickland Looks to Establish Statewide University System

Governor Strickland today asked Board of Regents Chancellor Eric Fingerhut to set up a collaboration among public colleges and universities in Ohio.

The University System of Ohio will include 13 public universities, 23 public two-year colleges, the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine and several adult career centers.

Strickland says he wants a 10-year plan developed to set benchmarks and timelines for higher education.

The governor says the new system will create what he calls a “new, Ohio birthright access for every Ohioan to an affordable, world class higher education.”