Friends of WOSU Board


The Ohio State University Board of Trustees holds the license to all WOSU broadcast properties. OSU Trustee information including board membership can be found at

The Friends of WOSU Board, an advisory group of central Ohio citizens, acts as a liaison between WOSU Public Media and the community.

The board serves as a link to and from the community-at-large, gathering and sharing information and opinions on area issues, needs and strengths with the community, staff, management, and board; cultivates sources of funding while promoting memberships, sponsorships and donations through special events and other activities; and supports communication of WOSU goals among members of the Friends of WOSU, the larger community and The Ohio State University.

Meetings of the Friends of WOSU Board are open to the public. However, portions of some meetings may be closed in order to address confidential information or proprietary matters. Unless otherwise specified, the meetings begin at 5pm and are held in the Multipurpose Room at WOSU Public Media, 2400 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, Ohio.

Upcoming Board Meetings

  • March 2, 2016
  • May 4, 2016 (Retreat)

Please contact Joan Duffey at 614.292.9678 or to confirm meeting dates and times or to request additional information.

President – Karen Ickes
Vice-President – Bill Schiffman
Secretary/Treasurer – Kathy McGinnis

Friends Board Members
Kyle B. Anderson
Trudy Bartley
Dan Cvetanovich
Ann DiMarco
Laura Ecklar
Fred Hadley
Dale Heydlauff
Jon Hsu
BethAnn Hullinger
Ray LaVoie
Ed Lentz
Michelle Leedy
Debbie Mitchell
Christine Mortine
Tom Rieland
Katy Rigsby
Michael Schwaiger
David Stallings
Guadalupe Velasquez
Past Friends Board Presidents
Dale Heydlauff – 2012-2014
Stephen Weed – 2009-2012
Dan L. Cvetanovich – 2007-09
Rebecca P. Damsen – 2005-07
Laura Ecklar – 2003-05
David L. Baker – 2001-03
Kenneth R. Cookson – 1999-2001
Edmund T. King – 1997-99
Judy Ross – 1995-97
Don G. Davis – 1993-95
Michael A. Mess – 1991-93
Joseph L. Davis – 1989-91
Ruth W. Mount – 1987-89
Ken Keller – 1985-87
Jean W. Reilly – 1983-85
Spencer A. Schilling – 1981-83
Charles F. Glander – 1979-81
Ann Mall – 1977-79
William A. McNutt – 1975-77
Jane Cook – 1972-75